logo logo

Back to main page

The NWNX Community Forum

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

SQLExecDirect & INSERT INTO not working
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Pyridon

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 19:39    Post subject: SQLExecDirect & INSERT INTO not working Reply with quote

Okay, I am an NWNX noob, not so noob what comes to NWN scripting and databases. I am using SQLite and I made my own player data table and tried to insert into it, but that didn't succeed, and I don't know why. I tried the SQL scripts in SQLite command line client and they worked okay, but not from my module script.

Here's the table creation command:
Code:

CREATE TABLE pcdata(
 pcid INTEGER PRIMARY KEY AUTOINCREMENT,
 pubcdkey char(8) NOT NULL,
 playername varchar(64) NOT NULL,
 pcname varchar(64) NOT NULL,
 nvisits int(5) DEFAULT 1,
 lastlogin timestamp(14) DEFAULT NULL
);

And here's the function. It is called from OnClientEnter:
Code:

int InitPC(object oPC) {

string pubcdkey = GetPCPublicCDKey(oPC);
    string playername = GetPCPlayerName(oPC);
    string pcname = GetName(oPC);
    int pcid = 0;

SQLExecDirect("SELECT pcid FROM pcdata WHERE pubcdkey='" + pubcdkey +
        "' AND pcname='" + pcname + "';");

WriteTimestampedLogEntry("Looking for PC: " + pcname);

if (SQLFetch() == SQL_ERROR) {

// Not found, so create a new character entry into pcdata

WriteTimestampedLogEntry("Creating new PC: " + pcname);
        SQLExecDirect("INSERT INTO pcdata (pubcdkey, playername, pcname,lastlogin) VALUES('" +
            pubcdkey + "', '" + playername + "', '" + pcname + "', CURRENT_TIMESTAMP");

// Retrieve the pcid again
        SQLExecDirect("SELECT pcid FROM pcdata WHERE pubcdkey='" + pubcdkey +
            "' AND pcname='" + pcname + "';");

SQLFetch();

WriteTimestampedLogEntry("Created");

}