logo logo

Back to main page

The NWNX Community Forum

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Some newbie question regarding plugin platfrom

View previous topic :: View next topic  
pixelord

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 18:10    Post subject: Some newbie question regarding plugin platfrom Reply with quote

Hi,
I am a PhD student working on Role Playing game-play. As part of my research work I need to modify the NerverWinter Night Server (with scripts or plugin, I am not sure) so that we can log different game activity in the server.

Now our requirement demands that we log different details of data and event (from very granular level to high level) while games are being played.

Now, Can anyone give me any idea, where I should start looking into? Is it possible to write plugin that can log server side data, events and actions? If yes where can I get the resources (SDK documentation/scripting/functions)?

Is there any existing system/plugin available to do the job? Is there anysample code/plugin available that may help me to start my job?

Thanks a million in advance.
Squatting Monk

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 0:24    Post subject: Reply with quote

What sorts of game activity are you looking to log? My guess is that most of the important stuff could be done inside NWScript itself.
pixelord

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 7:17    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
I think the kind of activities I need to log is like player acticity (Attack, picking objects, initiating a quest, using an weapon, etc.), Player and NPC status (health, skill, invenroty, etc.), Game status (Quest completed, milestone reached, etc.)

Thanks for replying.
Squatting Monk

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 21:16    Post subject: Reply with quote