logo logo

Back to main page

The NWNX Community Forum

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

error checking for void functions?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
xorbaxian

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 18:09    Post subject: error checking for void functions? Reply with quote

hi,

i'm new to nwnx2 and can't find the answer to this one in the docs. how can i check the success of an sqlexec call like INSERT, UPDATE, CREATE, etc? i'm looking for something analogous to the the SQL_SUCCESS and SQL_ERROR for sqlfetch(). is this stored in a global variable someplace?

thanks
Squatting Monk

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 2:38    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is nothing analogous to SQLFetch for INSERT, UPDATE, or CREATE. You could make functions to work around this, though they'll be kludges. If you're not needing to find out whether the functions succeeded from within the script, you can always look at the log. Any errors have ! at the beginning of their entry, so just do a search for ! if there's a lot of entries to search through.
xorbaxian

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 18:49    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for the reply. actually, i am looking for a way to test for success of the operation within the script. i want to be able to report to the user that the store operation was successful -- or not.

it seems strange to me that there'd be no way at all to check this; there are any number of things that could go wrong during a write.

any ideas?

thanks again for your input!
cadderly

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2007 13:35    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can use mysql internal variables or functions to check for the number of rows that a SELECT would return. Or how many rows where inserted
Or check the mysql error

http://dev.mysql.com/doc/