logo logo

Back to main page

The NWNX Community Forum

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Should I take the time?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Sagerious

PostPosted: Sat Jun 10, 2006 5:56    Post subject: Should I take the time? Reply with quote

Hello all Smile

I've been poking around here, and I'm interested in maybe learning this stuff in order to enhance the experience of the players of my PW. Basically, I just want to know if what NwNx has to offer would be worth my time in learning how to use it...

A bit about what I know already...

I've been working on the world for about a year now, and I'm a moderate to good scripter with NWScript, and I have limited experience with databases. I've been operating a phpBB forum for a while, and I've had to trouble shoot it from time to time, so I'm mildly familiar with phpMyAdmin. I know basic DB terms and such, and have created a few simple databases in Access, but I know I have a lot to learn. I've messed around a little with Microsoft Visual programs in Visual Basic, C#, and C++, and even tried to make a GUI of my own. I managed to create the basic form itself, but never figured out how to get it to do stuff. Also, though I doubt this has any relevance, I've managed to create a few decent-looking websites using HTML, DHTML, xhtml, and JavaScript. I'm self-taught on all of this, having learned most of it within the past year and a half or so, so I'm sure I am a bit sloppy in the implementation department, but I'm still learning Smile

Soooo...considering this, how much work do you think I would have to put in to learn how to use NwNx adequately? And, do you think the benefits of NwNx would be worth the effort? What are the benefits of using NwNx?

Thanks for your time Smile
FunkySwerve