logo logo

Back to main page

The NWNX Community Forum

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Linux shell script

Post new topic   Reply to topic    nwnx.org Forum Index -> Linux technical support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Mal

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 5:50    Post subject: Linux shell script Reply with quote

Hi,

I am really new to both linux and mysql but I have managed to get nwnx2 up and running correctly. Now one of the features I would like to do is the watchdog. However, I have been reading that the watchdog requires a shell script, which I believe you can download from the documentation for installing nwnx2 for linux.

I know this isn't a linux training forum, however, my brain is about fried and I really just want to get the server auto restarting and have nwnx2 running the show so I can learn how to do all the fun stuff with mysql. I was hoping someone could take the time to explain to me how to operate the shell scripts or at least point me somewhere that is a decent place that explains it well.

I appreciate any time you guys have to spend.

Thx ,

Mal
Paul R

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 15:08    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, I guess it depends on what you mean by a watchdog kind of process really. A few examples have been posted on here already but I'll go through the details of a couple of different options and considerations.

Watchdog wrapper

One method is to wrap the startup script you had in the other post with a loop that will just keep running forever, for instance this in a bash shell:

Code:
#!/bin/bash
#
# Start the nwstartup script
#

cd /usr/local/nwn/

while [ 1 ]
 do
  echo "Starting NWN..."
  ./nwstartup.sh
 done